Prestigious honor has previously gone to Thomas Edison, famed computing pioneer Grace Hopper, and astronaut Ellen Ochoa, among others

k-Space co-founder Roy Clarke

k-Space Associates, Inc. is proud to announce that its co-founder and University of Michigan physics professor, Roy Clarke, has been named an AAAS Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Clarke was named an AAAS Fellow for his contributions to the role of interfaces in thin films and quantum nanostructures, and for his entrepreneurship, which has resulted in “several recent inventions and tech transfers.” He joins the ranks of other AAAS Fellows including Thomas Edison, W.E.B. DuBois, astronaut Ellen Ochoa, and computing pioneer Grace Hopper.

Darryl Barlett, k-Space CEO and co-founder stated “this is a well-deserved honor. Roy has been a leader in scientific entrepreneurship, tech transfer, and in expanding the ranks of applied physics to include more minorities and females.”

Roy Clarke is the Marcellus L. Wiedenbeck Collegiate Professor, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor, and professor of physics at the University of Michigan. In 2010, Clarke received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring from President Obama.

Since 1874, the AAAS has elected Fellows based on their “extraordinary achievements.” At the AAAS Annual Meeting, Fellows are presented with a certificate and a blue and gold rosette. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and the publisher of Science and related journals. A profile of Roy Clarke and his work promoting diversity in applied physics programs was published by Science last year.

Thin Film and Industrial Metrology Systems

Have a measurement challenge in mind?

One of the pillars of our success is standing by as consultants. We’re always here to talk about your project needs.

Contact Us